

Policy for Prevention and Prohibition of Ragging

HERITAGE BUSINESS SCHOOL is committed to follow the policies formulated in compliance with AICTE notification regarding regulation for Prevention and Prohibition of Ragging vide No. 37-3/Legal/AICTE/2009 dated 1/7/2009 (Page 146 of Appendix 12), Approval Process Handbook of AICTE and the affiliating University MAKAUT:

- The advertisement issued for admission (print or own website) shall clearly mention that ragging is totally banned and anyone found guilty of ragging and/or abetting ragging is liable to be punished.
- The application form for admission/enrolment shall have a printed affidavit which should be filled up and signed by the candidate to the effect that he/she is aware of the law regarding prohibition of ragging as well as the punishments, and that he/she, if found guilty of the offence of ragging and/or abetting ragging, is liable to be punished appropriately.
- The application form shall also contain a printed affidavit which should be signed by the parent or guardian of the applicant to the effect that he/she is also aware of the law in this regard and agrees to abide by the punishment.
- Anti-ragging Committee (ARC): the Anti-ragging Committee is to be nominated and headed by the Head of the Institution, and consisting of representatives of civil and police administration, local media, Non-Government Organizations involved in youth activities, representatives of faculty members, representatives of parents, representatives of students belonging to the freshers' category as well as senior students, non-teaching staff; and shall have a diverse mix of membership in terms of level as well as gender.
- Anti-Ragging Squad (ARS): the Anti-Ragging Squad is to be nominated by the Head of the Institution
 with such representation as may be considered necessary for maintaining vigil, oversight and patrolling
 functions and shall remain mobile, alert and active at all times. The Anti-Ragging Squad shall have
 representation of various members of the campus community and shall have no outside representation.
 It shall be the duty of the Anti-Ragging Squad to be called upon to make surprise raids on hostels, and
 other places vulnerable to incidents.

- The Anti-Ragging Committee of the institution shall take an appropriate decision with regard to punishment or otherwise, depending on the facts of each incident of ragging and nature and gravity of the incident of ragging.
- Display board within the premises at prominent places as well as on the Website of the Institution indicating the details of members of current ARC and ARS; Helpline numbers of Anti-Ragging squad.
- Create awareness about anti-ragging norms and to ensure the Ragging- Free Campus and Hostels.
- Conduct various competitions, such as slogan & essay writing, poster making and logo designing on
 Anti Ragging and distribute certificates/prizes to encourage the students to create awareness and
 sensitization. Events like Anti-ragging workshops, seminars and other creative avenues may be
 arranged periodically to spread relevant ideas.

HERITAGE BUSINESS SCHOOL

CIRCULAR

Ref No. HBS/ARC/01/2024-25

Date: 28th August, 2024

In compliance with AICTE notification regarding regulation for Prevention and Prohibition of Ragging vide No. 37-3/Legal/AICTE/2009 dated 1/7/2009 (Page 146 of Appendix 12), Approval Process Handbook; the following Anti Ragging Committee and Anti Ragging Squad are hereby formulated for the academic session 2024-25.

ANTI RAGGING COMMITTEE

1.	Dr Kali Kumar Chaudhuri	Director	Chairman
2.	Dr Arunava Bhattacharya	Assistant Professor	Vice-Chairman
3.	Mr Santosh K Ray	Assistant Professor	Member
4.	Mr Satya Priya Rarhi	Law Officer	Member
5.	SDO or His nominee	Representative, Civil Administration	Member
6.	OC, Anandapur PS	Representative, Police Administration	Member
7.	Ms Sudeshna Banerjee	The Telegraph, Media Representative	Member
8.	Mrs Sumita Roy	Former District Chairperson, Innerwhee	el
		Representative of NGO	Member
9.	Lt Col Amitava Ghosh Dastidar	Campus Administrator	Member
10.	Dr Banhisikha Bhattacharyya	Student Counsellor	Member
11.	Ms Somya Sinha	2nd year student	Member
12.	Mr Samanway Sekh	2nd year student	Member
13.	Mr Pradip Kr Sengupta	Parent	Member
14.	Mr Suryasish Mondal	1st year student	Member
15.	Ms Biyas Saha	1st year student	Member
16.	Mr Subhasish Modal	Parent	Member

K. K. Lundhi

Prof (Dr) K K Chaudhuri Director

Anti Ragging Squad

Assistant Professor	Vice-Chairman
Assistant Professor	Member
Assistant Professor	Member
Assistant Professor	Member
Campus Administrator	Member
Office Executive	Member
	Assistant Professor Assistant Professor Assistant Professor Campus Administrator

Admin & TA

Sr. Executive- Admin

Member

Member

K. K. Lundhi

7. Ms Joyita Ghosh

8. Ms Namrata Sen

Prof (Dr) K K Chaudhuri Director